top of page
Ernszt András_Víz-fátyol, Wasser-Schleier_2022_Kunstfakultät der Universität Pécs Ungarn.j

FAIR PROGRAM ARTfair
INNSBRUCK

FAIR PROGRAM
& SIDE EVENTS
ARTfair INNSBRUCK
 

From the beginning, for ARTfair Innsbruck it's very important to organize an interesting side programme with added value for exhibitors and the public at the opening and during the fair days.

 

In addition to professional guided tours for visitors, informative art discussions, charity events, curated performances and ARTfair specials, the traditional top-class special show is also a magnet for art lovers.

SPECIAL SHOW
& ARTfair SPECIALS
AN OVERVIEW
 

Sonderschau Überblick


CREATIVITY AS THE GREATEST REBELLION IN EXISTENCE


ARTfair Special  2023
University of Pécs/Hungary – Faculty of Music and Fine Arts
 

 

The Faculty of Music and Fine Arts of the University of Pécs is primarily characterized by the concept of Gesamtkunstwerk, which is unique among Hungarian universities. This concept emphasizes the diversity of art, the thoughts of the exhibited works and the various technical solutions. The leading professors, students and artists of the faculty from the fields of painting, sculpture, ceramic art, graphic design and electric media art, will present their works. Traditional and renewed techniques will be presented in the exhibited works.

In the courses of the Institute of Music you can study classical music, but in the near future will also be offered the study of jazz. For some, certain directions of contemporary music are "too modern, difficult to understand and perceive". The University of Pécs would like to refute this prejudice with the music pieces to be performed and in professional performance. The musical world of the contemporary compositions - keeping the music-historical traditions at the same time - feeds on the spirit of the present, the social phenomena and the questions of everyday life are taken up as themes.

The musical program will focus on works by 20th and 21st century Hungarian and international composers in the performance of chamber groups. The groups will musically reflect with improvisations on the paintings, sculptures and installations exhibited by the faculty.

 

Modern dance is a new field in the educational portfolio of the Faculty of Music and Fine Arts, but its origin goes back 60 years, to the foundation of the "Pécsi Balett"-s (Pécs Ballet). Their performance transforms the sensations, mood of music and the exhibited works into movement.


The installation of the Chair of Design is connected with the anniversary "Petőfi 200". Sándor Petőfi was one of the most important poets of the reform era, had an important role during the Hungarian Revolution and the War of Independence 1948-49. Hungary dedicates to him, on the occasion of his birth 200 years ago, programs throughout the year.

One of the most important places of the social meetings was the café. Connected to the "Reform Time" circle of thoughts of "Petőfi 200", further interacting with the planned theme of gastronomy, the University of Pécs would like to present the installation "Café" at ARTfair Innsbruck 2023.
The stand of the Faculty of Music and Fine Arts must be imagined as the "world of a café", which is the central inspiration of a special absurd artistic expression. From this basic aspect the University of Pécs introduces itself and the artistic ideas will connect to it. In the realization, integrations can be seen that worthily represent the spirituality of the professors and students. It is a simple starting point, but it offers many possibilities of association.

The scene of a café, as a meeting place for social life, for artists and intellectuals, allows the liberating connection between existence or presence and the actually distant scene. It is particularly interesting to reflect on a distant place that no longer physically exists in the present time. In this sense, it can appear as a more visual evidence in modern form, which justifies the liberation and the representation. The University of Pécs reflects on the attractive parallel of everyday life, which makes the eternal existence of the Young Men of March (designation of young men in the revolution in 1848) tangible in our everyday life.

What is creativity and what connects art with gastronomy and general art, according to Ákos Lokodi - among others - can be explained with two quotes:


"Creativity is the greatest existing rebellion. If you want to create something, you have to let go of all the conviction raised in you, otherwise your creativity will be no different than a copy, just an indigo swipe. You can be creative only if you have a personality." Osho


"There is no creativity controlled by rules. (...) If we look for rules in creativity, it is as if we wanted to separate the mind from the body." Frank Herbert

One could list all the keywords that ever influenced gastronomy and art, for example "playfulness" "humor", "humility", "perseverance", "renewal", "proportionality" and so on.
The gastronomic concept presented in ARTfair can be described with three words: "creativity - proportionality - reinvention".
How else could #the mostly characteristic ingredients of the Hungarian cuisine be shown, especially on the international stage, when the artworks of a fresh faculty, ready to reinvent itself, charged with creative energy, trying to complement with gastronomy on an international level?

"I believe that with proper openness, we not only become more tolerant, but also richer."

Ákos Lokodi - creative chief

Uni Pécs

 

MICHEL FRIESS

ARTIST OF

THE YEAR 2023


Artist of the year 2023
Michel Friess, presented by Art-Gallery am Hofsteig, Wolfurt-AT
 

 

 

"EVERYTHING IS POP AND POP IS EVERYTHING! POP ART IS MY LOVE AND MY LIFE!"

"Michel Friess is currently one of the most successful and important German and international Pop Art artists. In addition to countless awards and art prizes (e.g. the International Leonardo Da Vinci Prize, the Frida Kahlo Prize, the International Art Prize New York and many more), he was awarded the "Oscar of the art scene" - " THE GLOBAL ART AWARD 2020" - in Shanghai in November 2020. - 1st place in the Mixed Media / Graffiti category. He has thus finally become the most successful representative of German Contemporary Pop Art. Michel Friess' works can now be found in over 70 renowned galleries. His international breakthrough came in 2016. From Shanghai and Singapore to Las Vegas, New York, Los Angeles and Miami. His works now hang alongside the great pop art icons such as Andy Warhol, Keith Haring, Roy Lichtenstein and Banksy in international galleries.

Born in Neustadt an der Weinstraße in the summer of 1970, Michel Friess was already interested in art at a young age, especially street art. He was already a graffiti artist on his skateboard at the age of 16 and, after a long break, dedicated himself to pop art in 2008. He entered the professional art world a short time later with portrait works for celebrities. 

Michel Friess produces his outstanding and elaborate unique pieces entirely by hand in his studio in Kaiserslautern in southwest Germany. His wife Mel assists him. His dedication to detail is unmistakable. His pictures tell stories, they capture the viewer and his thoughts and there is always something new to discover. His works are created using complex techniques such as painting, the use of spray cans, hand screen printing, paint rollers, wild splashes of paint, as well as the use of iconic newspapers, posters, rare comic books and much more, which make each work of art absolutely unique. Michel Friess produces each work to order and individually as a one-off in his loft studio in Kaiserslautern - a former file factory from the 1950s. The spirit and flair of his almost legendary workshop is reflected in many of his works and motifs. Many well-known personalities have already visited him on his premises.

The artist attaches great importance to complete craftsmanship. His unique works are mainly created using hand screen printing, whereby each individual screen is made by himself from wood and covered by hand. This is a very laborious method, as he sometimes uses over 20 different screens per picture.

With his mixed technique of hand screen printing, painting, airbrushing with a spray can and paper collages, he creates works in which the dedication and attention to detail are clearly visible and tangible in each of his works. The fact that Michel Friess loves what he does is unmistakable - a clear signature."

(Popart-Gallery, Ralph Barlog)

Artist of the year


EXPLORATION
OF DIMENSIONS
KI - NFTs


The artistic possibilities of 3D digital technology
by Atila Atila

top of page
Ernszt András_Víz-fátyol, Wasser-Schleier_2022_Kunstfakultät der Universität Pécs Ungarn.j

RAHMENPROGRAMM
ARTfair
INNSBRUCK

RAHMENPROGRAMM &
SIDE EVENTS
ARTfair INNSBRUCK
 

Die ARTfair Innsbruck legt seit Beginn an großen Wert darauf, zur Eröffnung und während der Messetage, ein für Aussteller und Publikum interessantes Rahmenprogramm mit Mehrwert zu organisieren.

Neben professionellen Besucherführungen, informativen Podiumsdiskussionen, Charity-Aktionen, kuratierten Performances und ARTfair-Specials ist auch die traditionelle hochkarätige Sonderschau ein Anziehungspunkt für Kunstinteressierte und Kunstschaffende.

SONDERSCHAU
& SPECIALS
EIN ÜBERBLICK
 

Sonderschau Überblick


DIE KREATVITÄT ALS GRÖSSTE EXISTIERENDE REBELLION


ARTfair Special  2023
Universität Pécs/Ungarn – Fakultät für Musik und bildende Künste
 

 

 

Die Fakultät für Musik und bildenden Künste der Universität Pécs wird in erster Linie durch das Konzept Gesamtkunstwerkes geprägt, welches unter den ungarischen Universitäten einzigartig ist. Dieses Konzept betont die Vielfältigkeit der Kunst, die Gedanken der ausgestellten Werke und die verschiedenen technischen Lösungen. Die führenden Professoren, Studenten und Künstler der Fakultät aus den Bereichen Malerei, Bildhauerei, Keramikkunst, Grafik-Design und elektrische Medienkunst, werden ihre Arbeiten vorstellen. Traditionelle und erneuerte Techniken werden in den ausgestellten Werken präsentiert.


In den Studiengängen des Institutes für Musik kann man klassische Musik studieren, aber in naher Zukunft wird auch das Jazzstudium angeboten. Für einige sind bestimmte Richtungen der zeitgenössischen Musik „zu modern, schwer zu verstehen und wahrzunehmen“. Dieses Vorurteil möchte die Universität Pécs mit den aufzuführenden Musikstücken und in professioneller Aufführung widerlegen. Die musikalische Welt der zeitgenössischen Kompositionen ernährt sich – die musikhistorischen Traditionen gleichzeitig beibehaltend – aus dem Geist der Gegenwart, der gesellschaftlichen Phänomene und die Fragen des Alltags werden als Themen aufgegriffen.


Im Mittelpunkt des musikalischen Programmes stehen Werke von ungarischen und internationalen Komponisten des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts in der Aufführung von Kammergruppen. Die Gruppen werden mit Improvisationen auf die von der Fakultät ausgestellten Gemälde, Skulpturen und Installationen musikalisch reflektieren.

Der moderne Tanz ist ein neuer Bereich im Bildungsportfolio der Fakultät für Musik und bildende Künste, aber der Ursprung reicht bereits 60 Jahre zurück, zur Gründung des „Pécsi Balett“-s (Ballett Pécs). Ihre Performance umwandelt die Empfindungen, Stimmung von Musik und der ausgestellten Werke in Bewegung.
Die Installation des Lehrstuhls Design ist mit dem Jubiläum „Petőfi 200“ verbunden. Sándor Petőfi war einer der bedeutendste Dichter der Reformzeit, hatte eine wichtige Rolle während der ungarischen Revolution und dem Freiheitskrieg 1948-49. Ungarn widmet ihm, anlässlich seiner Geburt vor 200 Jahren , Programme im ganzen Jahr.


Eine der wichtigsten Stellen der gesellschaftlichen Treffen war das Café. Angeschlossen an dem Gedankenkreis „Reformzeit“ von „Petőfi 200“, weiterhin in Interaktion mit dem geplanten Thema Gastronomie, möchte die Universität Pécs die Installation „Café“ auf der ARTfair Innsbruck 2023 vorstellen.
Der Stand der Fakultät für Musik und bildende Künste muss man sich als die "Welt eines Cafés" vorstellen, die die zentrale Inspiration einer speziellen absurden künstlerischen Ausdruckform darstellt. Aus diesem grundgelegten Aspekt stellt sich die Universtität Pécs vor und die künstlerischen Ideen werden dazu Anschluss finden. In der Verwirklichung sind Integrationen zu erkennen, die die Geistigkeit der Professoren und Studenten würdig vertreten. Es ist ein einfacher Ausgangspunkt, bietet aber viele Möglichkeiten zur Assoziation.
Die Szene eines Cafés, als Treffpunkt für das Gesellschaftsleben, für Künstler und Intellektuelle ermöglicht die befreiende Verbindung zwischen dem Dasein oder der Anwesenheit und dem eigentlich ferner liegenden Schauplatz. Es ist besonders interessant auf einen fernliegenden Ort zu reflektieren, der in der Jetztzeit physisch nicht mehr existiert. In diesem Sinne kann es als visuelleren Beleg in moderner Form erscheinen, der die Befreiung und die Darstellung begründet. Die Universtität Pécs refeklektiert auf die anziehenden Parallele des Alltags, die das ewige Dasein der Jünglinge von März (Bezeichnung von jungen Männern in der Revolution in 1848) in unserem alltäglichen Leben greifbar macht.


Was ist Kreativität und was verbindet die Kunst mit der Gastronomie und der allgemeinen Kunst, das kann man laut Ákos Lokodi – unter anderen – mit zwei Zitaten erläutern:


„Die Kreativität ist die größte existierende Rebellion. Wenn du etwas erschaffen willst, muss du alle in dir erzogene Überzeugung loslassen, ansonsten wird deine Kreativität nicht anders als eine Kopie, nur eine Indigo-Durchschlag. Du kannst nur kreativ sein, wenn du eine Persönlichkeit hast.“ Osho


„Es gibt kein durch Regeln steuerte Kreativität. (…) Wenn wir in der Kreativität Regeln suchen, ist es so, als ob wir den Verstand vom Körper trennen wollten.“ Frank Herbert


Man könnte sämtliche Stichwörter auflisten, die jemals die Gastronomie und die Kunst beeinflusst, zum Bespiel „Verspieltheit“ „Humor“, „Demut“, „Ausdauer“, „Erneuerung“, „Proportionalität“ usw.
Die in ARTfair vorgestellte Gastrokonzeption kann mit drei Wörtern beschrieben werden: „Kreativität – Proportionalität – Neuerfinden“.
Wie anders könnten #die meist charakteristischen Zutaten der ungarischen Küche gezeigt werden, besonders auf internationaler Bühne, wenn die Kunstwerke einer frischen, sich zu neuerfinden bereiten, mit schöpferischer Energie geladenen, auf internationales Niveau stehenden Fakultät mit Gastronomie ergänzen versuchen?

 

"Ich bin der Meinung, dass mit angemessener Offenheit nicht nur toleranter, sondern auch reicher werden."

Ákos Lokodi – kreativer Chef

Uni Pécs


MICHEL FRIESS
ARTIST OF
THE YEAR 2023


Künstler des Jahres 2023
Michel Friess, präsentiert durch die Art-Galerie am Hofsteig, Wolfurt-AT
 

 

 

"EVERYTHING IS POP AND POP IS EVERYTHING! POP ART IS MY LOVE AND MY LIFE!"

„Michel Friess ist einer der derzeit erfolgreichsten und bedeutendsten deutschen und auch internationalen Pop Art Künstlern. Neben unzähligen Auszeichnungen und Kunstpreisen (z.B. der Int. Leonardo Da Vinci Prize, dem Frida Kahlo Prize, dem Int. Art Prize New York uvm.), wurde ihm im November 2020 der “Oscar der Kunstszene“ verliehen –  „ THE GLOBAL ART AWARD 2020“ – in Shanghai. – 1. Platz in der Kategorie Mixed Media / Graffiti. Damit avanciert er endgültig zum erfolgreichsten Vertreter der deutschen Contemporary Pop Art. Michel Friess‘ Werke sind mittlerweile in über 70 renommierten Galerien zu finden. 2016 gelang ihm der internationale Durchbruch. Von Shanghai über Singapore, bis nach Las Vegas, New York, Los Angeles, Miami. Seine Arbeiten hängen mittlerweile neben den ganz großen Pop Art Ikonen wie Andy Warhol, Keith Haring, Roy Lichtenstein oder Banksy in internationalen Galerien.

 

Im Sommer 1970 in Neustadt an der Weinstraße geboren, interessierte sich Michel Friess bereits in jungen Jahren für Kunst und vor allem für die Street Art. Schon mit 16 Jahren war er auf dem Skateboard als Graffiti-Künstler unterwegs und verschrieb sich nach langer Pause 2008 mit Haut und Haar der Pop Art. Mit Portrait-Arbeiten für prominente Persönlichkeiten gelang ihm kurze Zeit später sein Eintritt in die professionelle Kunstwelt. 

Michel Friess stellt seine herausragenden und aufwendigen Unikate in kompletter Handarbeit in seinem Atelier im Südwesten Deutschlands, in Kaiserslautern her. Seine Frau Mel assistiert ihm. Die Hingabe zum Detail ist unverkennbar. Seine Bilder erzählen Geschichten, sie fangen den Betrachter und seine Gedanken ein und ständig entdeckt man etwas Neues darin. Seine Werke entstehen durch komplexe Arbeitstechniken wie Malerei, Spraydosen-Einsatz, Handsiebdruck, Farbrolle, wilde Farbspritzer, sowie den Einsatz kultiger Zeitungen, Plakate, seltene Comic-Hefte und vielem mehr, welche jedes Kunstwerk absolut einmalig machen. Jedes Werk fertigt Michel Friess auf Bestellung und einzeln als Unikat in seinem Loft-Atelier in Kaiserslautern – einer ehemaligen Feilenfabrik aus den 50er Jahren. Der Geist und der Flair seiner schon fast legendären Arbeitshalle prägt und spiegelt sich in vielen seiner Werke und Motive wieder. Viele bekannte Persönlichkeiten haben ihn in seinen Räumlichkeiten schon besucht.

Der Künstler legt Wert auf komplette Handarbeit. Seine einzigartigen Werke entstehen hauptsächlich im Handsiebdruck, wobei jedes einzelne Sieb von ihm selbst aus Holz gefertigt und von Hand bespannt wird. Eine sehr aufwendige Methode, da pro Bild teilweise über 20 verschiedene Siebe zum Einsatz kommen.

Mit seiner Mischtechnik aus Handsiebdruck, Malerei, Airbrush mit der Spraydose und Papier-Collagen  entstehen Werke, bei denen die Hingabe und die Liebe zum Detail in jedem seiner Werke deutlich sichtbar und spürbar sind. Dass Michel Friess liebt was er tut, ist unverkennbar – eine eindeutige Handschrift.“

 

(Popart-Gallery, Ralph Barlog)

Artist of the year


EXPLORATION
OF DIMENSIONS
KI - NFTs


Die Künstlerische Möglichkeiten der 3D-Digitaltechnologie
by Atila Atila